Local Maternity System Boards

There are three Local Maternity System (LMS) Boards within the Northern England Clinical Networks area:

Durham, Darlington, Tees, Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby (DTHRW)  

Chair:  Julie Lane, LMS Senior Responsible Officer and Nurse Director, North Tees and Hartlepool NHS FT

Northumberland, Tyne & Wear and North Durham (NTWD)

Chair: Dr Andrew Beeby, LMS Senior Responsible Officer and Medical Director, Gateshead Health NHS FT

West, North and East Cumbria (WNEC)

Chair: Eleanor Hodgson, LMS Senior Responsible and Programme Director: Children and Families

The aim of the LMS Boards is to develop and implement a local vision for transforming maternity services by 2020/21, based on the principles of the National Maternity Transformation Programme (Better Births 2016).

The Boards are the mechanisms through which the Sustainability and Transformation Plans (STPs) will collaboratively transform maternity services, with a focus of delivering high quality, safe and sustainable maternity services and improved outcomes and experience for woman and their families.

The Transformation Plan for the DTHRW and NTWD LMS Boards can be found here and supporting information here

The WNEC Better Births (LMS) plan can be found via the following link